This and That

-So my computer is back with Dell Tech Support, now thanks to a faulty motherboard that won’t recognize my AC Adapter so my batteries will charge. Great stuff with Dell – GREAT STUFF. I think the three-year service contract was money well-spent in this case. Light a candle and say some Hail Marys for me as we all know what happened last time. When you look at the whole ‘pay more for extra coverage,’ it really makes you wonder how well the stuff you’re buying actually is. The best is when you buy a $100 dvd player at Best Buy and they try to sell you a plan that is more than the player itself. (Isn’t the glance back from the high-schooler manning the register priceless? It’s one of those ‘whatever old guy – I’m off in 30 minutes to huff paint and listen to My Chemical Romance’ type looks, right?) Long story kinda short, the male/female point-counterpoint I promised will run once my Dell gets back here in 2008.

-It was good to hear that my rogue’s gallery had a blast at the first-annual New Year’s Eve party in Portland, ME. The crew rented out a bar and had like 75 people there, one of which was not me as I working for my sixth-straight New Year’s Eve. Highlights (from what I heard) included bad karaoke, a popcorn machine getting broken, stripper dates and my friend King’s sweater. (Later, I was told that King ‘looked just like you’ which got me wondering exactly how I look. Jerks!) While I was disappointed at not being able to go, I did ring in the New Year with a few work friends, one of which is the guy who is now running our game-night operations and moved up here with his fiancee from Texas this past summer. You really gain perspective on how the South lives when he tells you he can remember the last year when he saw snow: 1988.

-After polishing off Season 2 of The Sopranos in one week, Season 3 gets loaded up on HBO On Demand this week. While I worked on some music editing Sunday, I left the tv on one of the Season 5 episodes and already felt a swell of disappointment for what’s to come. The Shield also kicks off this week and I used some X-Mas money to pick up season 7 of The Simpsons. The first disc had me in ripping in laughter. I mean, dying. Watching the bland newer episodes now make me wish they had pulled the plug somewhere in season 15 or so. I also finally picked up the Dane Cook ‘Retaliation’ double-cd, also a must-have for pure laughter. And yes, I might have a man-crush on him.

-Where did this new term ‘crushing’ come from? You know, “I am really crushing on this song right now” or something like that. I just know a certain 30-something-year-old that likes to act all Tiger Beat and he says it, so I’m trying to figure it out. I’m sure it has something to do with bad t.v. or the Lewiston-Auburn a/v club, but I don’t know. That’s how I roll.

-I would probably be excited about the Red Sox’ signing of J.T. Snow if I was still in seventh grade. I’m old enough to remember when he was just coming up and supposed to be really, really good. Now, he’s 38. Zoiks.

-Speaking of old men, I am now another year closer to Social Security as I quietly turned the big 28 this past Wednesday. I think I’ve written about this before, but my birthday hasn’t seemed like a big deal for years now. I’m not sure if it’s because a) I’m always working on or around it, b) the fact it falls right around the holidays and everyone’s tired or c) I’m unclear whether I should draw attention to it. I had a few people this week tell me, “Hey! Why didn’t you tell me it was your birthday? I would have taken you out for a drink.” But isn’t it a bit presumptious for me to call people, tell people it’s my b-day and then wait for them to do something? I need a ruling here OR an agent. I remember being younger and very jealous of the ‘summer birthday’ kids that got to actually do stuff like have parties when it was nice out and not 15 degrees.

Happy birthday King and congrats to someone reading this that has an announcement that might not be public yet! (This one will be HUGE, trust me.)

su-fi,
nason

